Thursday, March 4, 2010

Jackie Gingrich Cushman Nominated for Georgia Author of the Year Award

/PRNewswire/ -- Author, columnist, speaker and founder of the Learning Makes a Difference Foundation, Jackie Gingrich Cushman has been nominated for a Georgia Writer's Association (GWA) Georgia Author of the Year Award for her book, 5 Principles for a Successful Life: From Our Family to Yours, which she co-authored in 2009 with her father, former Speaker Newt Gingrich.

The book has been nominated in the Creative Non-Fiction category, and the winner is set to be announced in June at the GAYA ceremony.

"As a longtime resident of Georgia, it's an honor to be nominated by the Georgia Writer's Association this year for a book that has such importance to me and my family, and was inspired by the students in the Learn, Earn and Achieve program run by the Learning Makes a Difference Foundation," said Cushman. "5 Principles for a Successful Life can help every reader move closer to achieving their dreams, and I'm thrilled about the opportunity to share its message with fellow Georgians."

In 5 Principles for a Successful Life, Cushman and her father show how one can live life to the fullest by following just five principles: Dream Big, Work Hard, Learn Every Day, Enjoy Life and Be True to Yourself.

In addition to being an author, Jackie Gingrich Cushman is a nationally syndicated columnist for Creators Syndicate, writing a weekly column that focuses on current events and political issues from a mom's perspective, and is a sought-after public speaker represented by WorldWide Speakers Group. Cushman serves on The Georgia Advisory Council for the Trust for Public Land, the board of Genesis: A New Life, and the board of the Learning Makes a Difference Foundation. She has been a guest on the Mike Huckabee Show, Geraldo At Large, Fox and Friends, CNN and NPR.

The Georgia Writer's Association was founded in 1994, sponsoring conferences, seminars, and monthly writing workshops. GWA is currently housed in the College of Humanities and Social Sciences at Kennesaw State University in Kennesaw, GA.

GWA sponsors the annual Georgia Author of the Year Awards (GAYA), first given in 1964 by the Dixie Council of Authors and Journalists. Commercially and independently published authors from Georgia are eligible for nomination. Awards in a variety of categories are announced and presented at the GAYA ceremony.

Fayette Front Page
Georgia Front Page
Follow us on Twitter: @GAFrontPage

No comments: